Dy's Take

June 27, 2011

Painted Ladies by Robert B Parker

Filed under: Favorite Authors,Mystery,Series I Love — Dy @ 20:47

Painted Ladies: A Spenser Novel(50) a Spenser novel
3.5 / 5

==========

The book was, largely, on a par with other recent Spenser books, a little better than some, not as good as others. I *sorely* missed Hawk. I love that mental picture I get of Avery Brooks and that enormous gun he carried on the TV series every time Hawk is mentioned in the books.

What broke my heart, though, was the flap copy. I had no clue Parker died until I noticed the author box on the back flap had a date on both sides of the hyphen.

I am waiting for the final manuscript in hopes that Hawk will be in that one.

I agree with a lot of other reviewers that a lot of the Spenser & Susan stuff has gotten repetitive, but the dialogue changes, and the smart dialogue is one of the reasons I read Spenser. I love Spenser, but many of the characters are anything but three-dimensional(Belson!)But,oh, the words Parker put in their mouths! For me thsmart, fast, engaging dialogue made the sometimes flat characters or predictable plots worth it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

