Dy's Take

March 29, 2011

Hooked on Murder: A Crochet Mystery by Betty Hechtman

Filed under: ChickLit,Mystery — Dy @ 22:22

(27) Crochet Mystery #1

I have this one and book 2 in the series from PB Swap and doubt I’ll pursue the series beyond them. It was okay, but the MC was a bit whiny, I’m kinda over the cozy thing, and the crochet pattern and recipe elements felt a little too much like a knockoff from a number of foodie mysteries plus Earlene Fowler’s quilt series…

Pacing was problematic… It was okay when I got into it each time I picked it up, IF I read for at least 15-20 minutes to get back into it. Just a bit dull (though I am happy to say I didn’t see the whodunit coming) and I am SO sick of cops-n-cozies. Surely there HAS to be another way for an amateur sleuth to do their job without sleeping with a lawman (or ex-lawman in China Bayles’ case…)

So, young mystery writers, think of a new cop connection, or, better still, find a way to write a cozy ~without~ the cop connection and I’m there.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

