Dy's Take

January 21, 2011

Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean Auel

Filed under: audiobook,Historical Fiction — Dy @ 12:15

(9) Earth’s Children, book 1

A friend gave me a copy of this for Christmas 2009. It’s her all-time favorite series and, knowing I read alot, she wanted to share it with me.

I tried to read the copy she gave me and got bogged down — I spent 2 months slogging through the first couple of chapters. Since Auel has a new book in the series coming out in 2011 I even spent $1.99 on a Kindle copy in hopes that I might read it if it was always in my purse. Not so much…

Finally, because I knew my reading it was important to her, she asked me every few weeks if I’d read it yet, I ordered an audio copy from the library. And finished at last (unabridged this puppy was 17 CDs. Seventeen!).

It was okay. I don’t see what all the fuss was about. There was too much of the author showing off how much incredibly detailed research she did. In my not even remotely humble opinion the same story could have been told at half the length. I enjoyed the reading (I will listen to almost any book if I don’t have to read it) .

But I had trouble reading it because the writing was, I felt, not that good.  Moments of unintentional (I hope) alliteration (“…churned up by the horde of hard-hooved bison..”) and inappropriate references (calling the cave cathedral-like in a novel about a prehistoric, largely pre-verbal culture) would jerk me out of the story.

In a moment of, “What am I gonna listen to next?” after I finished this I ordered the second book, also audio, from the library, but I’m not sure I really want to pick it up when it comes in.

2.5/5

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

