Dy's Take

November 16, 2010

Dancing with Butterflies by Reyna Grande

Filed under: Book Club,ChickLit,LitFic — Dy @ 23:11

(68)

Populated by stereotypes that made me cringe for women everywhere even as I enjoyed learning more about folklorico. I could have cheerfully throttled ALL the female leads in this book.

Reading about abuse victims who don’t stand up for themselves drive me crazy.  As a woman fast approaching middle age and shocked at how my body has changed since high school it is all too easy to my own potential in the plastic surgery addict. The illegal…that’s hard. I live in a border state and it’s hard to look at that issue from the other side. I appreciated the glimpse into the mindset, and, particularly, the look at what many illegals are running from (profound poverty) but I can’t bring myself to approve. The school teacher? No. Just no. I’ve been where she was and there is no excuse for that behavior. Period.

This was a good book for book club because it was something I never would have chosen on my own. I just didn’t like the story/characters.

The language though? I don’t know if it was a translation issue, or just that author’s native language is Spanish, but there were moments when the beauty and lyricism of some of her phrases took my breath away.

Still, I doubt I’ll read any more of this author’s work, unless my book club makes me again.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

