Dy's Take

June 3, 2010

Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris

Filed under: Books,Paranormal,Romance,Series I Like — Dy @ 14:21

( 31 ) Sookie Stackhouse, book 10

The plot on this one was so thin that 4 months later (when I’m writing this review) I can scarcely remember it.  What I remember most is that it was short. It read like a short story fluffed to be a novella.  A good, meaty Sookie book it was not (True Blood gone to the head, maybe?). It would have been a great long story, but it was an irritatingly short novel.

Oh, yea, and the utter lack of moving forward on ANY of the character fronts was annoying. What is the point of a series novel if it does not advance the characters on their path?

I love CH, I’ve read her other series (lurve Lily Bard & wish she’d write more of them) but was disappointed in what felt to me, as a fan who knew Sookie from the first book and used to wait impatiently for the next one, like a story that was phoned in.  Sorry, CH.

Like Anita Blake, Sookie has been reduced to something I’ll get on the waitlist for from the library, but I’m not invested enough to spend money on her anymore.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

