Dy's Take

September 26, 2009

The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander

Filed under: Kids,Movie Books,Series I Love — Dy @ 23:57

( 77 )  The Chronicles of Prydain, book 1

I read this series back in 8th grade and loved it. I was looking for the rest of Isabel Allende’s children’s series when I noticed that the library had all five Prydain books on the shelf. Now they’re on my shelf 🙂

I enjoyed this just as much as I did when I was in junior high. More, probably, since I have a finer appreciation of Eilonwy’s odd speech habits (something I doubt I noticed the first time around) and a mom’s appreciation of how clean and decent an adventure it is. It is a big adventure, but told in a slender volume and with almost of the violence taking place “off camera*”.

With luck, once J is finally ready to start digging into books with no pictures I’ll introduce her to the series. Even though I am trying not to inflict my reading preferences on her. Or cringe too much when she asks me if there is a new Fashion Kitty book out yet :-S

*Do you know what the literary equivalent of this term would be? We know there was a battle and fighting, and a tortured prince and whatnot, but it’s not described in detail in the course of the narrative.  If you know a better, bookish way to express this sentiment, please leave a comment and let me know.  Thanks!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

