Dy's Take

September 26, 2009

Read a Banned Book Week


September 26-October 3, 2009 is Read a Banned Book week.

bbw_lorax_lg

Today I’m trying to decide WHICH banned book to read. I was going to read “TTYL” since it was banned locally in Round Rock, Texas, earlier this year, but all the copies were checked out at the library. I consider that a triumph for free speech, and may even donate a copy to the Round Rock library (it was challenged in Round Rock schools, not the library) just to thumb my nose at the censors.

Of course I let my kid read comics and watch superhero and monster movies, so what do I know about protecting children (over half of all book challenges are initiated by parents) from harmful ideas?

Want to read a banned book, too?  Check out the lists of the top ten most challenged books in recent years:

2008 / 2007 / 2006 / 2005 / 2004 / 2003 / 2002 / 2001

Want more to choose from? How about the 100 most challenged books from 1990-1999?

The American Booksellers Foundation for Free Expression (ABFFE) has a great resource guide for banned books week.

Finally, check out the searchable database of banned and challenged books on the Beacon for Freedom website.

(update – that was a useless database, for me at least. Try the ABFFE list instead.)

1 Comment »

  1. I’m going to read Catcher in the Rye since my school didn’t read it in high school 🙂 Already got my copy.

    Comment by Candy Beauchamp — September 26, 2009 @ 20:51 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

