Dy's Take

September 18, 2009

Scaredy Kat by Elizabeth Cody Kimmel

Filed under: audiobook,YA — Dy @ 16:03

( 71 ) Suddenly Supernatural, book 2

I hate to say it, especially THIS of all weeks, but…

This sequel to a cute YA paranormal was rather Dan Brownish.

I say that because of the pacing. One of the things that annoys me the most about Dan Brown (who tells an entertaining and tightly plotted story, not necessarily a well-written one) is that these huge books of his, all 300+ pages, are compressed into a very tiny window of time in the book. Usually 72 hours of plot time or less. It’s a little exhausting, and makes the suspension of disbelief, at least for me, a real challenge.

That was my problem with Scaredy Kat, too. Kat spent months just barely coming to grips with her talent, then does amazing things and faces her fears and saves the day in less than a week over Spring break and still has time for coffee & pastry breaks with Jac.  On a side note: coffee?! for 7th graders? I may be being naive here, but WTF?  Soda I could see, coffee not so much.

‘Course, back when I was in 7th grade there were no Starbucks (Starbuckses? Starbuxes? Any ideas on the plural form of Starbucks?) on every corner with super-sweet-so-even-your-kid-will-drink-it coffee drinks, so maybe I’m just out of touch with today’s youth.

Other thing that bugged me was the 10yo ghost. Who acted like a 5-6yo.

I live with an 8yo, so I have a pretty solid grasp of what this age is capable of, I can still recall 5-7 pretty vividly, and I can only imagine and wonder at what my now 8yo will be doing when she’s ten. I’m pretty sure it will involve little to no play with matchbox cars, marbles, and other simple toys. She doesn’t have any male friends who still play these games at 8, let alone 10.

That said, I enjoyed the heck out of this one too. I sound mean because what stuck out most were the things that took me out of the story, so that’s what I talked about. I’d definitely recommend it, like the previous book in the series, to anyone with a girl (8-11 I’d say) interested in otherworldly fiction (sorry, sexist, but these are definitely girly books) that you want to shelter from the sex and violence of most teen paranormals for a little longer.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

