Dy's Take

September 18, 2009

City of the Beasts by Isabel Allende

Filed under: Fantasy,Thriller,YA — Dy @ 22:35

( 72 ) The Journeys of Jaguar and Eagle, book 1

Translated from the Spanish by Margaret Sayers Peden

Surprisingly high-minded and bloody all at the same time. The male MC in this series is 15. That usually means it’s aimed at an audience around 11-15yo since most kids like to read about characters older than themselves. I was surprised by the quantity and seeming casualness of the violence in this book.

It was a good story, with a not-even-remotely-concealed politic message about protecting indigenous peoples (a goal I agree with), but a rough read for YA.

Frankly, I find Allende very long-winded. Everything of hers that I’ve read has been translated by the same person, and I can’t help but wonder if the excess verbiage is a result of the author’s intent, the translator’s craft, or just that English doesn’t have the right words for some of the ideas originally written in Spanish.

Whatever the reason, this was a hard YA read for me. BUT, the plot was entertaining (though the characters were largely caricatures) and I’ll definitely read the next one. I just don’t know that I’d recommend them to a kid under 13, preferably 14. Yes, I’m old-fashioned and naive. Let me be.

=================================================

On a totally separate note:

Someone found this blog today by searching for (not a joke!) “inkheart erotica.”

Can I get a WTF?!? *shaking head* I guess it takes all kinds…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

