Dy's Take

September 16, 2009

Me! Me! BBAW Reading Habits MeMe


I never have managed to figure out how to add buttons in WP. Admittedly the truth is I’ve never tried all that hard, but still, I never figured it out.

Which is why you don’t know I’m participating in Book Blogger Appreciation Week (the third annual, my first) this week.  They posted a meme yesterday, but, well, sometimes I’m a bit slow.

Here it is, my answers are in red (because it’s my favorite color):

You and Your Reading Habits

image

Today’s it’s all about the creativity.  We have this fabulous reading meme for you below and all you have to do?  Pick ONE or answer them all in as few words as possible!  Be creative, have fun, stand out!  That’s all!

Do you snack while you read?

Sometimes.

If so, favorite reading snack?

Salty (chips and ranch) or sweet (chocolate and peanut butter). Sometimes savory (cheese and crackers). Comfort snacks, ya know.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of
writing in books horrify you?

I don’t mark in books often, but that’s mostly because I don’t want to interrupt the narrative flow.  If marking a book helps YOU get more out of it, go for it. Just don’t do it to one of mine, that’s my job.

That said… My bookclub has had trouble staying on task at meetings lately.  We read “The Book Club” not long ago and one of the characters used post-it to marks passages she wanted to discuss. I admired the practicality of it, but it totally distracted from the story when I tried it. I’d like to find some type of marking method (shuddup Kindle pimps!) for book discussions, but have yet to come up with one I like.

As a purchaser of used books, though—I like them clean.

Too many answers? lol

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?

All of the above. Bookmarks are my preference—I love bookmarks and make several every year as gifts (I read and crochet, though generally not at the same time). I keep a jar in my office and recently fell in love with Literati’s beaded elastic book marks.

If I have to mark my spot one of the other ways, I prefer the dog ear over the facedown layout because of the spine thing. I went toe-to-toe with Raidman (my husband) not too long ago because he was reading my copy of Neil Gaiman’s “American Gods” like it was a magazine, with the left-hand pages rolled around to the back! He stopped doing it and I now suspect he did it just to get a reaction since my book survived.

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?

Both, though I STRONGLY favor fiction. About 40 to 1.

I’m not saying I won’t read nonfiction, but I’m an escapist reader.  I love historical fiction and hard science fiction by authors who do their homework and make an effort to be as accurate/realistic as possible. Sure I read for entertainment, but learning something new along the way will never hurt my feelings.
Hard copy or audiobooks?

Both. I used to scorn audiobooks. Until I discovered their ability to keep my 8yo from saying, “Are we there yet?” in the car. Now I’m a fan.

I prefer to read a hard copy for books I want to retain for a while.  With me audiobooks literally go in one ear and out the other. I enjoy the stories, but I won’t retain them 90% of the time.

The exceptions are VERY well read audio books like Garth Nix’s Abhorsen trilogy, Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series, and, one of my personal favorites, Kate DiCamillo’s, “The Tale of Despereaux.”

The flipside is true, too.  I loved Lynn Redgrave’s reading of “Inkheart,” but J (my daughter) and I have both been disappointed by Brendan Fraser’s reading of “Inkspell.” I gave up and am reading it, though I still play it in the car for her.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?

Depends on the book and how engrossed I am and where/when I am,  but it doesn’t bother me to stop mid-chapter.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?

False modesty aside, I almost never come across a word I don’t know. I’m reading one excruciatingly literary book (not my normal thing) right now that is so chock full of unfamiliar words I started keeping a list of them on an index card to look up later.  The card fell out last week and I decided to give up.

Guess that’s my longwinded way of saying No to this question.

What are you currently reading?

The list is long and I am lazy so I’ll just link to it HERE.

What is the last book you bought?

“Escape from the Forest” Warriors: Tigerstar and Sasha, book 2 by Erin Hunter. This was an early Christmas purchase for the 8yo who, fortunately, does not read mom’s book blog 🙂
Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?

See list above.  I think the most I’ve ever had going at any one time was an even dozen.

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?

I have a couple of preferred spots in the house, the loveseat in the living room and the chaise in  my bedroom (when the fam gets their laundry off it!) but I can ( & do) read just about anywhere.
Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?

Yes.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?

Surprisingly, no. I recommend specific books but never really recommend any author’s body of work as a whole. I’m picky 🙂
How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)

By area of interest: poetry, vampires, Arthuriana, mystery, decorating, landscaping, architecture, etc. Basically in a manner that makes no sense to anyone but me 🙂

Pretty sure that is WAAAAY more than anyone ever wanted to know, but it was fun to write, so there ya go.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

