Dy's Take

May 28, 2009

Turn Coat by Jim Butcher

Filed under: Mystery — Dy @ 23:30

( 40 )  A Novel of the Dresden Files

I lurve this series.  It’s smart, it’s serious, it’s funny, and the sex, what very little there is, isn’t graphic or the main point of the story.  You know how hard it is to find that in a long-running series about magic in an alternate Earth? nigh impossible.

I enjoyed the hell out of this book and was pleasantly surprised by how many times I thought the story was almost done and would put my bookmark in and discover I had more book left than I thought.

I was, however, severely disappointed by the ham-handed foreshadowing. The minute our bad guy was introduced, I knew it was going to be him. I actually got kinda mad at Harry for taking so long to figure it out. I think it’s because the character was in a position I’ve been in.  I get how overlooked someone like that is, and how they have access to everything.  The convo with McCoy early on was an overdone reminder of this fact.

Minor characters in Dresden novels are kind of like minor characters on Star Trek (the original series)–if you are introduced to them they are likely going to (a) die soon (b) figure more prominently in another book later in the series, or (c) be a bad guy/girl.

Despite this glaring flaw, I lurved it and can’t wait for the next one.

On a side note—I am not a huge swords & horses fantasy reader, outside of a few classics. I want someone who has read them to give me an opinion on Butcher’s Fury series before I pick one up.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

