Dy's Take

February 14, 2009

A Map of Home by Randa Jarrar

Filed under: LitFic — Dy @ 15:36

( 16 )

A litfic I actually liked 🙂  Maybe because it is told like a YA book from a child to young adult’s perspective–more innocence, less dogma.

I like these glimpses of life in parts of the world we only ever hear about on the news, it helps remind me, in the midst of so much American anti-terror fervor, that they are just people, too.  Just as not all Americans are serial killers (though we have more active serial killers at any given time than any other country in the world, not all people from teh Middle East are terrorists.  Seems simple, but its hard to remember some time, especially when people are hurting.

I have a cousin in Iraq–I don’t think about it often because I can’t do much about it except keep him and his mom in my thoughts. Thinking about it, though, makes me glad that J would almost certainly be turned away by the military were she to apply.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

