Dy's Take

July 16, 2008

There’s a (Slight) Chance I Might Be Going to Hell by Laurie Notaro

Filed under: audiobook,Book Club,ChickLit,Mystery — Dy @ 09:45

( 48 )

This was better than the cover art led me to expect…eventually.

I got this one on audio so I could listen on my ipod while I walk the dog.  Good plan, right?  Multi-tasking and all that.  The author’s style was entertaining, but the book just didn’t make any sense whatsoever.  This went on for about 3 days with me complaining about the lack of logical organization to the book.

Then I realized my ipod was still on shuffle from the last time I played music on it. Doh!

After starting over from the beginning to get things in their proper order, it was a much better book. There were some things about the story pacing that probably would have annoyed me in print, but that worked in audio, largely due to the skill of the reader.

The book, despite being about a woman and by a woman had a real heavy-handed feel.  The men in this book had all the power, outside of Rowena & she was only trading on her husband’s power, and were all a bit condescending, except John. That annoyed me.

I ~loved~ the pageant though.  Just the idea of a pageant where beauty isn’t really a factor was exciting to me.  Sure, beauty helped, but entertainment value was more desirable.

Did kind of piss me off that we never ~really~ find out what happened to Ruby.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

