Dy's Take

March 18, 2008

Sabriel by Garth Nix

Filed under: audiobook,Fantasy,YA — Dy @ 23:10

(16)

I’m not totally sure I should count this in my booklist, since I am a book snob and it was an audiobook.

But, I will, because it was SO good. I’ve been thinking I needed to read some Garth Nix for a while, and when I noticed the library had it on audio I figured it would give me something to listen to in the car. I wavered, saw it was read by Tim Curry and that made the decision for me.

I also quickly realized that it was not suitable for listening while driving the 6yo around. It is a YA book, definitely older YA though. It is not deeply scary, but some of the concepts of life and death and afterdeath would be difficult to explain to someone to a child with limited life experience. The story was good, really good and original and I never saw the ending coming, which is nice.

Real kudos go to Tim Curry for an excellent reading. You’ve never heard fantasy til you’ve heard Tim Curry voicing a wild magic creature pretending to be a talking cat with attitude. I had the sequels from the library, but I took them back and traded them in for the audio version two days into this one.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

