Dy's Take

March 16, 2008

The Girl Who Stopped Swimming by Joshilyn Jackson

Filed under: Mystery,SouthernLit,Thriller — Dy @ 11:48

(14)

Omigosh this was SO good!  I hate when people talk about writers growing and maturing like we are all closet teenagers, but JJ really is.  Each book is better than the last.  This one I devoured in 2 days.  It would have been one but about 130am my husband came and turned on the TV and I couldn’t read with all the noise.

There was not a single character I didn’t adore.  Not ONE.  I loved Laurel and her closet insecurity, her mother hiding behind manners and refusing to really SEE anything, her Dad living in his own world, happy as long as it kept revolving around her mom, and David.  I adored David, being married to one of those engineer types myself I could totally relate.

I firmly believe this is Joshilyn Jackson’s best book to date, and am already chomping at the bit to read the next one!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

