Dy's Take

February 25, 2007

Rumpelstiltskin by James Paige

Filed under: Short Stories — Dy @ 01:15

A short story, from James Paige’s “The Dubious (But True) Tale of My Death (And Everything That Preceded It)” .

I love fairy tales, and had never before read “Rumpelstiltskin” done from the perspective of the little man, so I enjoyed it for that.

Overall, I think it was a good story. I liked the little man’s ability to be sympathetic to the heroine yet still ruthless.  I also liked the fact that he never clarified whether or not he was a bad fairy or merely an indifferent one.  I was a bit disappointed that the author, given the opportunity, never answered the question of why the little man wanted the child.

The writing was, at time, a little amateurish (comma usage is a problem for Mr. Paige).  My biggest issue with the story was spelling errors.  They could be played off, largely, as missed letters from someone typing quickly, but they were still missed.  Others seemed deliberate, a choice to use incorrect grammar to express fey speech patterns.  I can respect that choice, but it still jolted me from the narrative flow since it was not used consistently.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

